中国:+8618813869025

美国:+1(909)206-2688

滞期费,滞期费有什么区别?

目录

(最后更新时间:2022 年 5 月 19 日)

在运送您的货物时,了解在延误的情况下您应该面临什么是很有用的。 阅读以下文章,您将有机会了解更多有关滞期费和滞期费的信息。

对商家来说,关键是要具体说明航运公司对任何潜在延误的预期。 因为如果有的话,他们可以决定他们喜欢哪种方式被收费:滞期费还是滞留费? 清晰的沟通和计划将使航运公司能够确保货物的持续流动。

此外,不同航运公司的滞期费和滞期费可能略有不同。 因此,请务必仔细检查差异以及它们在延迟情况下对您的意义。

解释基础知识——什么是快递员的空闲时间?

空闲时间是指在给定的时间段内,快递员不向买家收费。 在此期间,当然还包括滞期费和滞期费。 自由时间结束后,港口将收取所有额外费用。 这些将包括滞期费和滞期费,但也可能有额外费用。

初学者指南——什么是滞期费?

滞期费基本上是服务提供商对商家的罚款。 当买方未能满足双方达成的协议中规定的要求时,将发出此罚款。 最常见的是,当租船的船东没有装满或发出船时,就会产生这种费用。 当货物没有在他们先前商定的时间范围内从港口码头运走时,也会发生这种情况。 一般情况下,进口商在港口有几天的时间可以拿到他们的货物或集装箱。 这些是上面提到的自由日。 在此之后,他们将增加额外费用。

关于收费 – 为什么要收取滞期费?

简而言之,收取滞期费是为了阻止买家将货物留在港口太久,从而确保贸易的持续流通。 

例如,当买家移除集装箱时为时已晚,这很容易导致各种问题,例如港口人满为患。 因此,为避免此类堵塞,各方必须尽快周转其设备和存储单元 

负责人——谁执行滞期费?

执行滞期费的实体可能因交易期间使用的运输工具而异。 通常它可以是机场、航线、码头运营商或铁路等。 

 

在产生滞期费之前,您需要多长时间才能运送货物?

在大多数情况下,典型的航运公司将授权在港口存放 7 天。 这意味着买家有一周的时间免费提货。 在此免费时间段之后,将根据固定的每日费率收取额外的每一天费用,当然不包括最初的存储周。

更多关于价格的信息——滞期费是多少?

滞期费按天收取。 每个集装箱每天大约 75 到 150 美元。 虽然这笔费用可能会增加。 这一切都取决于集装箱在港口所占空间的长度。 例如,我们可以假设您有 5 天的空闲时间。 在此之后,您必须每天支付 150 美元的费用,最多可延长 5 天。 但是,从 6 天到 12 天,费用增加到 300 美元。 然后在达到下一个 450 天的限制后再次达到 12 美元。 因此,例如,如果您迟到了 18 天取货,则费用如下:

18 天 – 5 免费 = 13 天滞期费

($150 x 5 = $750) + ($300 x 7 = $2100) + ($450 x 1 = $450) = 每个集装箱 3,300 美元

您必须在现场支付这些罚款,然后才能取回您的容器。 正如您从上面的示例中看到的那样,这些费用可能会很快增加。 如果您碰巧有 10 个容器,这将意味着 33,000 美元! 出于这个原因,可以肯定地得出结论,您越快,通过避免这些额外的成本,您将节省的钱就越多。

什么是导致滞期费的典型情况?

如果您想避免滞期费并拥有顺畅的运输流程,请记住以下几点非常有用:

  • 如果付款延迟,运费将留在港口。
    • 如果分销商只为订单支付了部分费用,船舶可能会拒绝货物的放行,直到所有财务结清为止。
    • 这还需要为物品付款或批准供应商的付款条件。
    • 在提供初始装载费用的情况下,必须支付费用,或至少达成此类协议,以便快递员解除装载。
  • 不准确或不完整的信息,甚至进出口文件上的小语法错误也可能导致您的信息处理速度变慢。 这也可能导致货物的延迟放行日期。
  • 组织不当:
    • 收货人不知道货物的到达时间,因此无法及时完成必要的文书工作。 
    • 货件由派送员派送至港口,但对方无法按时取货。
    • 货物错过了约定的运输船,因此被放入下一艘船。 这将因此延迟到达时间。
    • LFD(最后免费日)之前没有更多可用的插槽
  • 在 LFD 之前无法访问正确的车辆或驾驶员
  • 当局还可以随机检查货物。 这也可能会延迟到达时间。
  • 其他物理条件可能使港口运营变得困难或明显变慢。 这些可能是:天气状况、港口满载或员工罢工。

您如何避免或减少滞期费?

您可以在下面找到我们提出的有用提示列表,以帮助您减少获得滞期费的机会:

  • 提前做好计划始终是关键。 这将帮助您避免许多潜在的错误。
  • 确保准备好所有必要的文书工作,以便运输尽可能顺利。
  • 如果可能,请提前向海关清关。
  • 确保所有相关方之间保持持续和清晰的沟通。
  • 检查您的卡车司机是否可以在批准的时间范围内运送货物。
  • 如有必要,请提前要求额外的空闲时间。
  • 为了节省时间,您的容器也可以预先拉出。

让我们继续前进——什么是拘留?

除了指学生在学校行为不端的短语的常见用法外,Detention 还用于运输和物流。 在这种情况下,它是指航运运输提供商发出罚款。 如果未能在约定的时间范围内将空容器退回原位,则商家必须向运输提供商支付费用。 例如,如果装运港允许5天的集装箱退回,但买方将它们带走拆箱8天,那么装运港将发出3天的扣留

滞留费有两种主要类型:按日收费和司机滞留费

分销商倾向于将滞期费与滞期费混为一谈。 区分两者的最简单方法可能是记住滞期费基本上是在港口内装载集装箱后发出的费用。

另一方面,滞留是对放置在港口外的集装箱收取的费用(无论它们是否已满)。 对于后者,重要的是无论您是否准时将货物从港口运出。 您也必须按时归还空容器。

虽然,也有一些例外。 一些轮船公司可以在约定的空闲时间后要求使用设备的滞留费。 因此,您可以体验必须同时支付滞期费(港口使用费)和滞留费(设备使用费)。

另一个值得一提的方面是拘留可能出现在不同的情况下。 理解差异的最简单方法是将它们分为 2 类:Per Diem(用于设备使用)和 Driver Detention(用于驾驶员的等待时间)

让我们深入了解一下——什么是每日津贴?

Per Diem 是在每个集装箱到达港口后收取的固定费率滞留费。 该费用在每天和每个集装箱之后计算,直到借来的设备被带回堆场。 尽管如此,一些终端在这个系统中都使用了 Diem 和 Detention 两个术语。 在每种情况下,费用都来自出口或进口货物时集装箱的延迟退货。 与滞期费类似,他们也有一段时间的免费日,您可以在其中归还借来的设备。 因此也以类似的方式,如果您在 Free Time 期间保留设备,则需要支付额外费用。 这也称为每日费用。

为什么要收取每日拘留费?

当涉及到他们的设备时,快递员必须确保保持连续运动。 因此,当一个客户归还借用设备的时间过长时,其他客户就无法使用这些服务。 因此,每日费用的目的是补偿一位客户因延迟退回设备而造成的损失。

另一方面——什么是司机拘留?

司机滞留费是按小时收费的。 他们将基于快递员对司机等待时间的评估。 收取的时间将在超过规定的装卸卡车的空闲时间后计算。 这适用于取货和送货。 司机滞留费旨在补偿迟到的司机。 

为什么要对司机拘留收费?

由于延误,司机可能无法完成交付。 这通常是因为他们将用完合法的驾驶时间。 错过这样的重要约会可能会导致他们被罚款甚至被免职。 这些挫折会导致司机失去下一个负荷以及相应的收入。 原因是因为通常这是由运费支付的。 因此,快速装卸会影响到每个人。 因此,清楚并准备好您的日程安排可以帮助您减少不必要的成本。 

谁对此负责——谁执行拘留费?

Per Diem 必须支付给拥有该设备的快递员。 另一方面,需要向负责跟踪集装箱的公司支付司机滞留费。

在您必须支付拘留费之前,您有多少空闲时间?

每日免费时间通常在 7-10 天之间。 对于司机拘留,空闲时间要短得多。 大多数情况下,在运输的接送点都需要 1-2 小时。 当然,这些时间可能因快递员而异。 如果您在任何时候超过空闲时间,该行为将导致额外费用。

您不知道的额外费用——拘留费用是多少?

按每日津贴收取的滞留费通常是在取货时的集装箱重量之后计算的。 在退回之前,成本在每个容器每天 50 至 100 美元之间。 司机拘留费的变化更大。 它可能基于所借用具的确切类型、公司甚至地理因素。 费率同样在每小时 50 至 100 美元之间。

什么是导致拘留的典型情况?

与滞期费类似,司机滞留也会影响出口和进口。 在进口处,司机必须等待货物装载。 对于出口,他们必须等待装载的集装箱被带到码头,准备登上正确的船。 

无论是在出口还是进口,都可能产生滞留费。 以下是可能发生这些情况的几种情况:

进口

  • 如果无法联系到收货人,快递员可能不会在进口时交货。
  • 太多时间被用于装载或卸载接收者的手段。 因此,司机因在空闲时间内退回集装箱而被延迟

出口

  • 缺少经验证的总质量可能会导致拒绝装运。
  • VGM 或 Verified Gross Mass 是装载到一个容器上的估计总重量。 这需要得到官方的批准。 该规则符合 SOLAS(海上人命安全)。 这里的托运人始终是负责准确重量的人

降低成本——如何避免或减少拘留费?

避免和/或减少滞留费的最佳方法是尽可能准确和明确地制定计划,并尽可能提前进行。 因为有很多因素会导致滞留费。 这些可能包括但不限于: 

  • 司机短缺
  • 框架不足
  • ELD(电子记录设备)的服务时间限制
  • 拥挤的港口

什么是仓储租金?

存储或地租是客户在港口、存储单元、仓库或任何类型的陆上集装箱空间获得物理空间的额外费用。 与每日津贴和司机滞留费相反,地租是在使用给定港口的物理空间之后计算的。

为什么要收取仓储费?

收取存储费用以补偿院子或其他设施占用其物理空间。 此外,为了防止运输者将空间用作他们的存储单元太久。 如果这些港口的空间非常有限,有时费用可能会非常高。 收取存储费用的部分原因如下:

  • 进口时装满的集装箱在运输公司的照管下,然后才允许进口商取走。
  • 进口时已装满的集装箱,在海关已获取它们进行检查的仓库中。
  • 在装船前,在航运公司监管期间,在码头出口时装满集装箱。 
  • 当地政府当局扣留的集装箱。 这可能是边境保护、警察或卫生当局等。

存储或地租由为进口商、出口商或航运公司提供集装箱存储的机构开具发票。 港口可以对一个集装箱同时收取滞期费和仓储费。

用我们的优质服务促进您的业务

我们很高兴收到您的来信

我们会在1个工作日内与您联系,请留意带有后缀的电子邮件 “@honourocean.com”

我们很高兴收到您的来信

1小时内获得报价

China:+8618813869025

USA:+1(909)206-2688

what’s the Difference Between Demurrage, Detention ?

Table of Contents

(Last Updated On: 2021年8月26日)

When it comes to having your goods shipped, it is useful to know what you should expect to face in case of a delay. Reading through the following article, you will have the opportunity to learn more about Demurrage and Detention.

It is key to the merchant to be specific to the shipping line about the expectancy of any potential delay. Because if there is one, they can decide  which way they prefer to be charged: Demurrage or Detention? Clear communication and planning will allow the shipping line to ensure a continuous flow of goods.

Besides, the Demurrage and Detention fees might slightly vary between different shipping lines. So make sure to carefully examine the differences and what they will mean to you in case of a delay.

Explaining the Basics – What is Free Time at Couriers?

Free time means that for a given period of time, the courier does not charge the buyer. During this time, of course, both detention and demurrage fees are covered as well. After the Free Time period is over though, the port will charge all extra costs. These will include detention and demurrage fees but there could be additional fees as well.

A Beginner’s Guide – What is Demurrage?

Demurrage is basically a fine to the merchant from the service provider. This fine is issued when the buyer fails to fulfill the requirements laid down in the agreement the two parties have made. Most commonly this fee occurs when the owner of the rental ship does not fill or send out the ship. It can also happen when the goods are not removed from the port terminal within the timeframe they previously agreed upon. Generally, a few days are provided for the importers to have their goods or containers by the ports. These are the above mentioned freedays. After this time, they will add extra charges.

About the Charges – Why is Demurrage Charged?

In short, Demurrage fees are charged in order to discourage buyers from leaving their shipments at the ports for too long and thereby to ensure a continuous flow of trade. 

When buyers are, for instance, too late with removing their containers that can easily result in various issues, such as the port being overcrowded. Therefore, in order to avoid such blockages, the parties have to turnover their equipment and storage units as fast as possible 

The One in Charge – Who Enforces Demurrage Fees?

The entity enforcing demurrage fees can vary depending on the means of transport that is used during the trade. Typically it can be airports, ship lines, terminal operators or railroads among others. 

 

How Much Time do You Have to Move Your Cargo Before You Incur Demurrage Fees?

In most cases, the typical shipping lines will authorize 7 days of storage at the ports. This means that the buyer has one week free of charge to pick up their goods. After this Free Time period, each additional day will be charged based on fixed daily rates, excluding the initial week of storage of course.

More about the Prices – How Much Does Demurrage Cost?

Demurrage is charged on a daily basis. Approximately it is $75 to $150 per day per container. Although this fee might increase. It all depends on the length of the space occupied by the container at the port. For example, we could assume that you have 5 days of free time. After this, you have to pay a fee of $150 per day up to an extra 5 days. However, from 6 to 12 days, the fee increases to $300. Then again up to $450 after the next limit of 12 days has been reached. So, if you are late with picking up your shipment for 18 days for example, the fee would be the following:

18 days – 5 free = 13 days of demurrage

($150 x 5 = $750) + ($300 x 7 = $2100) + ($450 x 1 = $450) = $3,300 per container

You will have to pay these fines right there and then in order to be able to retrieve your containers. As you can see from the above example these fees could add up rather quickly. If you happen to have 10 containers, this would mean $33,000! For that reason, it is safe to conclude that the faster you are, the more money you will save by avoiding these added costs.

What are Typical Situations That Lead to Demurrage?

Below are a few points that are very useful to keep in mind, if you want to avoid Demurrage and have a smooth flow of transport:

  • Should there be a delay in payment, the freight will remain at the port.
    • If the distributor only paid partially for the order, the ship could decline the release of the cargo until all finances are settled.
    • This also entails paying for the items or approving the terms of payment from the supplier.
    • The payment of fees, or at least an agreement of such has to happen in order for the courier’s loading to be released in case that an initial fee of loading was provided.
  • Inaccurate or incomplete information and even small grammatical errors on the export or import documents could also lead to slowing down processing your information. This can also lead to a delayed release date of cargo.
  • Improper organization:
    • Receiver is not aware of the time of arrival of the shipment and therefore it cannot do the necessary paperwork in time. 
    • The shipment is delivered to the port by the deliverer but the other party cannot pick it up on time.
    • The load misses its agreed upon ship of transport and is therefore placed into the next ship. That will consequently delay the time of arrival.
    • There are no more available slots before the LFD (Last Free Day)
  • The right vehicle or driver are not accessible before the LFD
  • Authorities could also randomly inspect shipments. This too could delay times of arrival.
  • Other physical conditions could make it difficult or significantly slower to operate by the port. These could be: weather conditions, an overfull port or employee strikes.

How Can You Avoid or Minimize Demurrage Fees?

Below you can find a list of useful tips we came up with in order to help you decrease your chances of getting Demurrage fees:

  • Planning well in advance is always key. This will help you avoid many potential errors.
  • Make sure that every necessary paperwork is ready so that the shipping can go as smoothly as possible.
  • If possible, clear your freight with customs in advance.
  • Be sure of constant and clear communication amongst all parties involved.
  • Check if your truck driver can take the freight within the approved time frame.
  • If necessary, ask for extra free time in advance.
  • Your containers could be pre-pulled as well in order to save time.

Let’s Move on – What is Detention?

Besides the common usage of the phrase referring to a student misbehaving in school, Detention is also used in shipping and logistics. In this case, it refers to a shipping transport provider issuing a fine. After failure to return the empty container to its place within the agreed timeframe, the merchant has to pay a fee to the transport provider. For instance, if the shipping port allows 5 days for the return of containers, but the buyer takes them away for unpacking for 8 days, then the shipping port will issue Detention for 3 days

There are Two Main Types of Detention Fees: Per Diem and Driver Detention

Distributors tend to mix Demurrage with Detention. Probably the simplest way to differentiate one from the other is to keep in mind that Demurrage is basically fees issued after loaded containers inside a port.

Detention, on the other hand, is fees issued on containers placed outside a port (regardless of them being full or not). With the latter, the important part is that no matter if you were on time with the removal of your cargo from the port. You must return the empty containers on time as well.

Although, there are some exceptions as well. A few steamship lines can ask for Detention fees for usage of equipment after the agreed upon amount of free time. So you can experience having to pay both Demurrage (for port usage) and Detention (for usage of equipment) simultaneously.

Another aspect worthy of mentioning is that Detention could appear in different contexts. The simplest way to understand the difference is, to split them into 2 categories: Per Diem (for equipment usage) and Driver Detention (for waiting time of the driver)

Let’s Dive into it – What Is Per Diem?

Per Diem is a fixed rated Detention fee issued after each container at the port. This fee is calculated after each day and each container until the borrowed apparatus is brought back to the yard. Still, some terminals use the terms Diem and Detention both for this system. In each case, the fees are coming from a late return of containers when exporting or importing goods. Similar to Demurrage, they too have a period of Free Days, where you can return the borrowed equipment. Therefore also in a similar way, if you keep the equipment over the Free Time period, you need to pay an extra fee. This one is also called a Per Diem fee.

Why is Per Diem Detention Charged?

Couriers have to be sure to maintain a continuous motion when it comes to their apparatus. Therefore when one client takes too long to return the borrowed equipment, other customers cannot use these services. Consequently, the Per Diem fee’s purpose is to compensate for the losses coming from one client’s delay of returning equipment.

On the Other Hand – What is Driver Detention?

Driver Detention is a fee charged by the hour. They will base this on the courier’s assessment regarding the wait time of the driver. The time charged will be after exceeding the free time given for loading or unloading the truck. This applies for both pickup and delivery. Driver Detention fee aims to compensate the drivers if they are late. 

Why is Driver Detention Charged?

Due to delays, drivers may be unable to conclude their delivery. This happens usually because they will run out of legal driving hours. Missing an important appointment like this can lead to them getting fined or even removed from their service. These setbacks can cause a driver to lose their next load as well as the corresponding income. The reason is because oftentimes this is paid by the freight. Loading and unloading promptly therefore affects everyone. So, being clear and prepared with your scheduling can help you reduce unnecessary costs. 

Who is Responsible for it – Who Enforces Detention Fees?

Per Diem has to be paid to the courier who is in ownership of the apparatus. On the other hand, one needs to pay Driver Detention fees to the company responsible for the tracking of containers.

How Much Free Time Do You Get Before You Have to Pay Detention Fees?

The Free Time for Per Diem is usually between 7-10 days. For Driver Detentions, the free time is much shorter. Mostly it is 1-2 hours at both the pickup and drop off points of the transport. Naturally, these times might differ between couriers. If you, at any time, exceed the Free Time, that act will result in extra fees.

Extra Prices You didn’t Know about – How Much Does Detention Cost?

Detention fees issued for Per Diem are normally calculated after the weight of the containers at pickup. The cost is somewhere between $50-$100 per container per day until it is returned. Driver Detention fees are more varying. It could be based on the exact type of gear borrowed, the company and even geographical factors. The rates though similarly are between $50-$100 per hour.

What are Typical Situations That Lead to Detention?

Similar to Demurrage, Driver Detention also affects both exports and imports. At imports, drivers have to wait for the loading of freight. For exports, they have to wait for the loaded containers to be brought to the terminal ready to board the right ship. 

Both at exports and imports, detention fees can occur. Here are a few scenarios where these could happen:

Imports

  • It can happen that the courier won’t deliver at import if the recipient of goods is not reachable.
  • Too much time is used for loading or unloading the recipient’s means. Consequently, the driver is delayed with returning the container within the Free Time period

Exports

  • The lack of the presence of Verified Gross Mass can lead to refusal of loading of shipment.
  • VGM or Verified Gross Mass is the estimated total weight loaded onto one container. This requires approval from an official party. The rule is in accordance with SOLAS (Safety of Life at Sea). The  shipper here is always the one responsible for weight accura

Reduce the Cost – How Can You Avoid or Minimize Detention Fees?

The best way to avoid and / or minimize detention fees is to be as exact and clear with your planning, and do it as far in advance as possible. Because quite a few factors can lead to detention fees. These could include but are not limited to: 

  • Shortage of drivers
  • Shortage of framework
  • Restricted hours of service by ELD (Electronic Logging Devices)
  • Overcrowded ports

What is Storage Rent?

Storage or ground rent is an extra charge experienced by a client for obtaining physical space at a port, storage unit, depot or any type of land container space. As opposed to Per Diem and Driver Detention fees, Ground Rent is after using the physical space at a given port.

Why is Storage Charged?

Storage is charged to compensate the yard, or other facility for the occupancy of their physical spaces. Besides, in order to discourage transporters from using the space as their storage unit for too long. If the space is very limited at these ports, the fees can go very high at times. Some of the reasons storage will be charged are the following:

  • Filled containers upon import while they are in the shipping line’s care, before they are allowed to be taken by the importer.
  • Filled containers upon import while they are in a warehouse where customs have acquired them for examination.
  • Filled containers upon export at a terminal while in custody of the shipping line, before loading onboard. 
  • Containers that are withheld by the local government authorities. This could be Border Protection, Police or Health authorities among others.

Storage or ground rent is invoiced by the establishment providing the storage of the containers for the importer, exporter or shipping lines. Ports can charge a single container by demurrage and storage at the same time on one load.

Boost your business with our high quality services

We are happy to hear from you

We will contact you within 1 working day, please pay attention to the email with the suffix “@honourocean.com”

We are glad to hear from you

Get quotation within 1 hour